Reading on a budget

This is something I think about a lot especially as a citizen of South Africa. Not everyone here, in fact most people here, cannot afford to buy books regularly. Books are a luxury when you don't always have enough money for basic necessities. Even someone who is considered ''middle class'' in SA cannot afford to... Continue Reading →

thebookishvoice with theimperfectmuslimah

October's guest contributor is Neymat Raboobee, the woman behind theimperfectmuslimah blog. She is a South African copy-editor, writer and professional cat lover. Neymat has been an avid bookworm since she was five years old. She, like so many of us, read Harry Potter when she was seven years old and fell head over heels in... Continue Reading →

7 Bookish favourites

It has come to my attention that there are a few little bits and bobs that I've been enjoying recently and all of them are bookish things. I thought I would share them with you and maybe you can try them out and fall in love with them too. I hope that these will enrich... Continue Reading →

thebookishvoice with theboldandthebooks

It's that time of the month again - I am so happy to introduce you to my August contributor(I know it's October but life is crazy sometimes), Halima Patel from theboldandthebooks on instagram. She is a fashion instagrammer and hopefully a future bookstagrmmer. She is a 23 year old medical student from Johannesburg. Being of... Continue Reading →

How to read more

One of the questions I get asked the most on Instagram is how to read more. It seems that most people, despite being book lovers, find it difficult to fit reading into their already busy lives. Obviously, I do a lot of reading and from my blog and Instagram it may seem like all I... Continue Reading →

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

*This book was kindly sent to me by PanMacmillan South Africa in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: An extraordinary love story for fans of Jandy Nelson, Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon - and everyone who loves books. ''Henry and Rachel were best friends once. Rachel had a huge crush on Henry, but that was... Continue Reading →

thebookishvoice with vuvuvena_reads

  Very excited to introduce August's guest contributor to you all! Vuvu from vuvuvena_reads is a South African bookstagrammer and booktuber. Her love for stories landed her a master's degree in Journalism Studies from the University of Stellenbosch. She obtained her degree whilst single-handedly raising 2 kids. What a Queen! She has worked in the... Continue Reading →

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Synopsis: What's the point of having a voice if you're gonna be silent? ''Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr in the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed... Continue Reading →

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑