Windfall by Jennifer. E. Smith

*This book was sent to me by PanMacmillan South Africa in exchange for an honest review*

Synopsis: 

“Alice has been in love with her best friend, Teddy, for the last three years. On his eighteenth birthday she buys him a lottery ticket, and to their astonishment he wins the jackpot. The two of them are suddenly thrown together with the world at their feet. And when Teddy finally decides how to spend his money, who better to go on that adventure with him than Alice?

But money can’t buy love, and Alice and Teddy are about to find out more about themselves and each other than they ever could have imagined.”

My thoughts:

The good things about this book are plentiful but there definitely were some things about it I didn’t like. That is why I gave it a 3half/5 stars.

Before I even talk about the book, I have to mention the cover. It is absolutely stunning and I would want to read it based on the cover alone.

IMG_8259

The first half of the book was incredible. A real page-turner, original, funny, interesting and well written. It got my heart racing a couple of times (all. of. the. feels.) which every contemporary should do (in my opinion).

The characters were lovely and very well-developed through the book. I found that they had real depth and interesting as well as very intriguing pasts.

The book was written very nicely and everything was beautifully described. I found myself marvelling at the imagery on every page. Really just wonderful pictures were created in my mind.

I found the second part of the book, more specifically towards the end a little bit less enjoyable and interesting and a lot more cliché. For me, the pace was too slow and I really just wanted to get to the end.

It was all sunshine and rainbows and very predictable. I did not like how everything Teddy thought about in the end, was this huge, brilliant, generous idea. It was a tad bit overdone which, to me, made it unbelievable.

IMG_8258

It did deal a lot with loss and I loved that because it really taught me about grief and pain and truly helped me to understand more about that. It also deals with the concept of money and how money is not the most important thing which I really liked. When YA books are deeper, more real and deal with things that make them more than just fluffy they are, in my opinion, automatically more enjoyable

Overall despite the few things I did not quite enjoy about the book I would still recommend. I thought it was good enough to read to the very last page. The pros outweigh the cons and the things I did not quite take to, are things that other people may not notice at all. It is the kind of book that causes a feeling of warmth and happiness inside.

xx

tbn

P.S Shout out to PanMacmillan South Africa for sending me a review copy of this book. It is always an honour!

 

Leave a Reply

